Harry Potter - Children's Books with Gifted CharactersIt’s good for all children to be able to relate to the characters in the books they read. They can more easily understand themselves and those round them. This is as true for a gifted child as it is for any other child. In fact, it might be more helpful for gifted children to read children’s books with gifted characters since they so often feel different and misunderstood.  Here are some books for kids of various ages that have characters and themes that gifted children can relate to. Archibald Frisby is wonderful for very young kids while Harry Potter has characters that represent the different types of gifted kids.




Archibald Frisby (Reading Rainbow Book) (Paperback)


Archibald Frisby, mad about science and wise beyond his years, is sent to camp to have fun and ends up broadening the horizons of his fellow campers.
This book is an easy reader that is sure to appeal to all gifted children, but particularly those who prefer to read a book during recess rather than play basketball. Archibald is a young gifted child whose idea of fun is to read and learn about science. His mother, however, worries about him and sends him to camp to have “real” fun. His fellow campers and his mother learn that science is fun. It’s never too early for gifted children to see kids like them represented in books. For ages 5-9
List Price: $7.95
New From: $19.99 USD In Stock
Used from: $15.00 USD In Stock


The Great Brain (Great Brain, Book 1) (Paperback)


This first book in the series is a great combination of The Adventures of Tom Sawyer and The Terrible Two series, and is perfect for fans of Roald Dahl.

The best con man in the Midwest is only ten years old.  Tom, a.k.a., the Great Brain, is a silver-tongued genius with a knack for turning a profit.  When the Jenkins boys get lost in Skeleton Cave, the Great Brain saves the day.  Whether it's saving the kids at school, or helping out Peg-leg Andy, or Basil, the new kid at school, the Great Brain always manages to come out on top-and line his pockets in the process.
However, T.D. is more than just a young con-artist; he also uses his intelligence to help his friends (and some adults) solve their problems and face their fears. Although he loves money, he loves people more. For ages 8 – 12.
More Great Brain books
List Price: $6.99 USD
New From: $5.05 USD In Stock
Used from: $0.25 USD In Stock


Matilda (Paperback)


From the bestselling author of Charlie and the Chocolate Factory and The BFG!

Matilda is a sweet, exceptional young girl, but her parents think she's just a nuisance. She expects school to be different but there she has to face Miss Trunchbull, a kid-hating terror of a headmistress. When Matilda is attacked by the Trunchbull she suddenly discovers she has a remarkable power with which to fight back. It'll take a superhuman genius to give Miss Trunchbull what she deserves and Matilda may be just the one to do it!

"Matilda will surely go straight to children's hearts." —The New York Times Book Review

For ages 8 – 12
List Price: $7.99 USD
New From: $5.57 USD In Stock
Used from: $1.00 USD In Stock


Harriet the Spy (Paperback)


Harriet M. Welsch is a spy. In her notebook, she writes down everything she knows about everyone, even her classmates and her best friends. Then Harriet loses track of her notebook, and it ends up in the wrong hands. Before she can stop them, her friends have read the always truthful, sometimes awful things she’s written about each of them. Will Harriet find a way to put her life and her friendships back together?
For ages 8 – 12
List Price: $6.99 USD
New From: $2.26 USD In Stock
Used from: $0.10 USD In Stock


Encyclopedia Brown, Boy Detective (Paperback)


Leroy Brown, aka Encyclopedia Brown, is Idaville neighborhood’s ten-year-old star detective. With an uncanny knack for trivia, he solves mysteries for the neighborhood kids through his own detective agency. But his dad also happens to be the chief of the Idaville police department, and every night around the dinner table, Encyclopedia helps him solve his most baffling crimes. And with ten confounding mysteries in each book, not only does Encyclopedia have a chance to solve them, but the reader is given all the clues as well. Interactive and chock full of interesting bits of information—it’s classic Encyclopedia Brown!  For ages 8 – 12
More Encyclopedia Brown books
List Price: $4.99 USD
New From: $1.00 USD In Stock
Used from: $0.10 USD In Stock


Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone (Paperback)


Harry Potter has no idea how famous he is. That's because he's being raised by his miserable aunt and uncle who are terrified Harry will learn that he's really a wizard, just as his parents were. But everything changes when Harry is summoned to attend an infamous school for wizards, and he begins to discover some clues about his illustrious birthright. From the surprising way he is greeted by a lovable giant, to the unique curriculum and colorful faculty at his unusual school, Harry finds himself drawn deep inside a mystical world he never knew existed and closer to his own noble destiny.
For ages 9 and up.
More Harry Potter books
List Price: $10.99 USD
New From: $5.99 USD In Stock
Used from: $0.25 USD In Stock


Welcome to the Ark (Paperback)


In a world reeling from the escalating violence of terrorism, war and crime, four brilliant young misfits are thrown together in an experimental group home they dub “The Ark”—part of a private mental hospital in the Adirondack mountains. Amanda (the linguist), Elijah (apparently autistic), Doug (the mathematician), and Taryn (the poet and mystic), soon discover powers of mind far beyond their extraordinary intellects. Dreaming versions of the same dream, able to join consciousness first with each other, then with nature, and finally with other brilliant children around the world, they feel a sense of mission they struggle to define. Perhaps they are here to stop the violence threatening humanity. But first they must find a way to save themselves. Welcome to the Ark is the first volume of the Ark Trilogy. The second is Flight of the Raven.
For ages 10 and up
More books by Stephanie Tolan
List Price: $15.99 USD
New From: $12.99 USD In Stock
Used from: $9.15 USD In Stock


A Wrinkle in Time Movie Tie-In Edition (A Wrinkle in Time Quintet) (Paperback)


This book is one of the all-time favorites of gifted children. And it’s small wonder since it has a little bit of everything — time/space travel, a unique family, and the lesson that friendship and love are greater forces than those trying to destroy them. On the surface it is a coming of age story of a young girl, Meg, but it is also full of action. For ages 10-14.
More in the Wrinkle in Time Quintet
List Price: $8.99 USD
New From: $4.40 USD In Stock
Used from: $4.50 USD In Stock
Release date November 7, 2017.


Bridge to Terabithia (Paperback)


The 40th anniversary edition of the classic Newbery Medal-winning title by beloved author Katherine Paterson, with brand-new bonus materials including an author's note by Katherine herself and a foreword by New York Times bestselling author Kate DiCamillo.

Jess Aarons has been practicing all summer so he can be the fastest runner in the fifth grade. And he almost is, until the new girl in school, Leslie Burke, outpaces him. The two become fast friends and spend most days in the woods behind Leslie’s house, where they invent an enchanted land called Terabithia. One morning, Leslie goes to Terabithia without Jess and a tragedy occurs. It will take the love of his family and the strength that Leslie has given him for Jess to be able to deal with his grief.

Bridge to Terabithia was also named an ALA Notable Children’s Book and has become a touchstone of children’s literature, as have many of Katherine Paterson’s other novels, including The Great Gilly Hopkins and Jacob Have I Loved.

For ages 12 and up
List Price: $7.99 USD
New From: $4.79 USD In Stock
Used from: $0.10 USD In Stock

4 Things to Consider When Choosing a Book for Your Child

Does your child enjoy the latest and most popular children’s books? If so, consider yourself lucky. For many parents of gifted children, finding books that fit their child’s interests and reading ability can be a challenge. It’s not impossible, though, if you know what to consider as you search for …
Carol BainbridgeBookschildren's books with gifted characters,Gifted Characters
It's good for all children to be able to relate to the characters in the books they read. They can more easily understand themselves and those round them. This is as true for a gifted child as it is for any other child. In fact, it might be more...